Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > Alumni news > Alumni Spotlight: Laura Esteban '89

Alumni Spotlight: Laura Esteban '89

"Teaching internationally has been the best gift for my children."

Spanish alumna Laura Esteban '89 attended the American School of Barcelona in middle school (grades 6-8) together with her siblings, Ana and Jordi (aka George). Her nephew, Esteban, joined the school's 6th-grade community this year from Texas. "My sister wanted her son to have the same experience we had."

Laura furthered her studies in education at the Universitat de Barcelona for her undergraduate and at the University of Massachusetts in Boston for her MA. Today she is an international English language acquisition teacher in Singapore. 

"I was an ESL student when I first arrived at ASB aged 12, and I remember it was very challenging. I have lived and worked in 7 countries over the last 25 years. I always tell my students that I also did not speak English as a child."

Reflecting on her experience at ASB, Laura shares that "I would have teachers who came and went, and that intrigued me. I knew early on that I wanted to become an international school teacher. The teachers cared and went beyond academics. I especially cherish memories of Ms. Pilar Hernando, Mr. Maas, and Ms. Ana Prieto."

"My career is what I would describe as the best gift for my children: a global education while discovering the world together as a family."