Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > Alumni news > Alumni Spotlight: Carlos Heredia Fontana '16

Alumni Spotlight: Carlos Heredia Fontana '16

"Being able to learn from so many people with diverse cultural backgrounds at ASB was such a privilege."

Spanish-born Carlos Heredia Fontana '16 attended the American School of Barcelona together with his brother, Pablo '19, his entire school life. With roots in the Dominican Republic on his grandfather's side, Carlos has been living there since 2021, where he is currently a professional football player at Cibao Football Club. Since 2018, he also represents the Dominican Republic in the men's soccer senior national team.

"My path has slightly differed from other students who graduated from ASB. When I graduated in 2016, I had several offers to study Sports Management from universities in the United Kingdom. Instead, I opted to continue to explore my professional sporting career while studying Business Management in Sports and Football from The Open University (online distance learning) since, due to my career, it was physically impossible to attend university in person."

Carlos's career started at MK Dons Football Club in the United Kingdom. He signed with the Wolverhampton Wanderers Football Club in his second and third years. When the pandemic hit mid-2020, he was living and quarantining in Poland, playing for a club called Miedz Legnica. 

"My path has taught me much about the sacrifices you must make to succeed in this industry."